A House for My Son

2019 saw Ann and I building a house on our property for our younger son, Alex.

I thought we were an exception to the rule when we decided to build a house for our son Alex. Andrew was working in Seattle, and I was concerned about my wife’s ability to stay in our home in coming years. Having family living across the back field would insure that there would be someone there for firewood splitting/stacking, plowing and all the other tasks typical of the Maine lifestyle. Only after the project started did I hear of other neighbors who either had built, or were starting to build houses for their kids. Our building contractor, Brent Zachau, a close friend, cabinetmaker and home builder, had earlier built a home for his daughter and her husband on land adjoining his property. His experience and rational provided the inspiration for our stating the design and construction of this small cape.

I took a month of vacation from Bowdoin College, where I was an Exhibit Technician for the Peary-MacMillan Arctic Museum, in August to help build the foundation. I hope to never bend another piece of rebar again.

Thanks for stopping by–STB

Leave a comment